PDA

View Full Version : Left Handed

Luke Sanders
06-09-2014, 5:46 PM
Sorry, couldn't resist. Here's the deal. In the middle of a workbench build that I'm planning to get into hand tools with. I'm a lefty. However, I've had some hip stuff going on and when planing left handed, my right hip hurts like crazy the next day. Since I'm just getting started with all this, I figured I could (at least try to) learn to plane right handed, but will still most likely do everything else with my left.

If I set this bench up with vises built for right-handed planing, would I run into trouble sawing, etc. left-handed? I was planning on going with a leg vise and a simple quick release vise on the end.

Just looking for opinions or potential gotchas before I get to building the base of this thing.

Jim Matthews
06-09-2014, 5:53 PM
I have the same sort of pain, from the stance.
The front foot (in your case the right) is bracing, and bearing most of your weight.

I try to "rock" when planing, so that my hip doesn't set up, much as you've described.

Rather than re-orient your bench, have you considered pulling your planes for short periods?

I would look first to the height of your bench, and get that where you can be most comfortable.
I like my bench to be right at the height of my belt buckle, for planing.

How high is your bench?
How far off the ground is your belt buckle, when you're standing "at attention"?

glenn bradley
06-09-2014, 5:56 PM
I don't have any advice for the pain but, the type of work I do has made me pretty non-committal as to left or right hand. I'm definitely right handed but, with the exception of handwriting, can do reasonably well with either.

Malcolm Schweizer
06-09-2014, 8:36 PM