PDA

View Full Version : Using roundover bit with bearing in router table

Marc Rochkind
06-07-2014, 10:00 PM
My roundover bits have bearings. When I'm using one of them in a router table (I'm new to this), I assume the work will bear against the bearing. What then is the purpose of the fence? Does one perform this operation without the fence? Does one try to make the fence flush with the bearing (sounds tricky)?

Don Jarvie
06-07-2014, 10:12 PM
You adjust the fence so it's just a hair in front of the fence. I put a ruler across the fence and have it barely touch the bearing.

You can use the bit without the fence because of tear out. With the fence you can tale a little at a time but without it your taking it all off with one pass. Only time I use it without the fence is when I use a flush cutting bit.

Mike Cutler
06-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Mark
The bit can be used in a hand held router also. In which case the bearing is the guided reference.
The bit can also be used by itself to perform edge work on the router table, but you will need a starting pin in the table for safety and control.
The bearing can be easily aligned with the fence face. Use a metal ruler and just align with the fence face.

Pat Warner is a member here on the forum and he pretty much "writes the books" on the use of a router. Invaluable resource and he's just a few mouse clicks away. Link to his page through his profile and he has tons of info.

Dave Zellers
06-07-2014, 10:28 PM
Round edges would require the bit be used without a fence. Straight edges can benefit from two passes with a fence, the first shy of the bearing and the second as Don describes.

It won't take long for it to all fall into place for you.

Myk Rian
06-07-2014, 10:46 PM
I use them both ways in the table. Just depends on if I'm doing some freehand, (with a pin) or some straight stock.
Whatever you feel comfy with.

Von Bickley
06-07-2014, 11:10 PM
I use that bit without a fence......

johnny means
06-08-2014, 12:49 AM