PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for current reviews and help

Brian Rodenz
06-02-2014, 8:57 PM
Hi all. I am completely new to laser engraving and cnc machines. I make toys and puzzles primarily on the scroll saw and am very interested in adding a personalized element to my items. I am a small family business and sell my things online. I have been looking for quite some time now at what members are using, recommending, and reviewing. Being that I am basically a one man shop, I have limited funds and cant afford to take out a big loan or take on a large debt for a fancy high dollar laser engraving.

I'm working with a few different types of wood, but only are interested in engraving, not any cutting, although it could be nice in the future.

I had read several reviews on Full Spectrum, but they are a year or more old. I am curious if anyone has purchased one recently and could tell me their experience?

I was looking around at kickstarter and found a funded project called mr beam. They are out of Germany and is a diy kill that looks very interesting. Since I am new to all of this, I am wondering if any of the seasoned members or anyone with any knowledge at all wouldn't mind checking them out and giving me their opinion on their project. Like I said above, I am new to this, so im curious how a diode vs a tube works, will it engrave ok for what I am looking to do with it? Their video and prices are appealing to me, but I want to call on any expert that would like to offer their two cents.

Thank you!

Dan Hintz
06-03-2014, 5:45 AM
On FS... a dog doesn't change its spots, so I would stay as far away from them as possible. If you read comments from earlier posts, then you surely saw my thoughts, too.