PDA

View Full Version : Chinese Rotary Attatchment on an Epilog Fusion.

Mitchell Tutty
06-02-2014, 7:11 PM
Years ago we had a chinese laser that came with a rotary attachment. For various reasons the chinese laser just wasn't for us and we sold for it parts. But, we did keep the rotary attachment it came with. Now, I have been running an 60w Epilog Fusion for almost 8 months now, and am looking at getting a rotary attachment. Is there any chance I can force my Epilog to run with a chinese rotary attachment? First problem is they have different male and female plugs as well as I presume the Epilog is not going to sense the rotary attachment like it does the Epilog one.
Has anybody had any luck in using a chinese rotary attachment?
Am i going to blow anything up by playing with the electronics of it?

All help would be appreciated, thank you!

Scott Shepherd
06-02-2014, 7:36 PM
You are a braver man than I am. I wouldn't dream of plugging something like that into my $40,000-50,000 Fusion. Best case, you figure it out. Worst case, you fry something and void your warranty.

matthew knott
06-02-2014, 7:37 PM
There are many obstacles in the way of doing this, the motor will almost certainly be wrong, chinese tend to use 3 phase stepper motors where as the epilog is 2 phase, even if the motor had the right number of phases it would have to have the correct wiring configuration (uni-polar 6 wire) and the correct impedance/voltage rating. Even if you overcome all that then the gearing needs to be right and if its not the roller type (not 3 jaw chuck) then the thing wont be calibrated.
You most certainly can blow the thing up if you dont know what your doing, i would say a good chance even if you did. IMHO it would be folly to try and save a few $$$ and risk blowing up and expensive and new machine, if epilog get wind you where tinkering i doubt they would cover the damage by warranty.

Mitchell Tutty
06-02-2014, 7:50 PM