PDA

View Full Version : Construction Grade Lumber for Furniture?

Charles Li
06-02-2014, 12:44 PM
Firstly, I'm very new to woodworking so pardon my ignorance. However, I can't seem to find a straight answer for the viability of using construction grade lumber for furniture. It seems to be very popular to use 2x4's, pine boards, and the like for furniture in the DIY circles. There's a lot of plans from people like Ana White using affordable wood like this to make very useful pieces. I'd like to too! However, pretty much everything I read here says not to because of the instability of the wood. Basically, it in very short time it will warp, cup, or split leaving you with a useless piece. I find it hard to believe that all furniture is doomed to failure if built with construction grade material if it's this popular. I see work benches made out of 2x4's all the time (granted with a different top). It must be stable in some scenario. So that's my question. What scenario can you use construction grade lumber successfully? Just make sure it's dried out enough? Only use a specific type of pine? Are there certain finishes to avoid? Differences between indoor and outdoor? I'm in Chicago so I see both extremes with temperature and humidity. I don't need things to last a lifetime or look like the most gorgeous piece ever. But, I do like the idea of learning with cheaper material and getting something useful out of it for a good number of years. Thanks for any insight!

Gary Petit
06-02-2014, 1:00 PM
Charles,