PDA

View Full Version : Best WW Mag(s)

bruce Humphrey
06-02-2014, 11:07 AM
Hello fellow WWers,
I am fairly new to fine WWing. I am very familier with DYI etc. I am just finishing an addition on the house and also putting together a wood shop. I will be building vanities, bookshelves, closet organizers also shop cabinets etc. I am looking for the best magazine or two that will provide direction and plans for useful furniture and shop fixtures and minimal artistic trinket type stuff.

thanks in advance for the input,
B.

Stan Calow
06-02-2014, 11:38 AM
bruce I subscribe to Fine Woodworking, and Woodworking. They both have enough interesting articles every month. The rest I will pick up occasionally while shopping, if there seems to be an article that catches my eye.

Ralph Boumenot
06-02-2014, 12:39 PM
Woodsmith and Shop Notes are two magazines that fit what you are looking for.

Greg Hines, MD
06-02-2014, 2:11 PM
I subscribe to several, including Shopnotes, Woodsmith Shop, Popular Woodworking. They are all good, though I prefer Shopnotes more than the rest.

You can also search this forum for maybe 3 dozen other threads on the same subject.

Doc

Doug Ladendorf
06-02-2014, 4:04 PM
Shop Notes hands down for fixtures and shop related stuff. I like Wood Magazine for beginner to intermediate.

Best advice I got when starting was to go to a bookstore like Barnes & Noble, grab a bunch of WW magazines and sit down with them for a while to look through them. Buy the one(s) that most interest you. When you have a good idea of what you want subscribe.

Paul Wunder
06-02-2014, 7:08 PM
There are three that will meet your needs: Woodsmith, Shopnotes (both from the same publisher) and Wood Magazine. All are geared to the new to intermediate woodworker You will get how to and shop set up info, and projects to build.

There are many "need specific" plans and books available from Plans Now, August Home Publishing and The Taunton Press.