PDA

View Full Version : Is this combination square a Starrett?

Keith Pitman
05-30-2014, 10:59 AM
I found this combination square in my late father-in-law's tools. The rule is marked "Starrett," but the head is not. The head has the letters "CER" stamped in two places, but no other marks. Is it a Starrett tool?

Loren Woirhaye
05-30-2014, 11:37 AM
Probably. I'm not an expert but I have some fine squares where only the rule is badged.

Mike Henderson
05-30-2014, 12:13 PM
I would guess "yes". I have one from my father, who was a machinist, that looks exactly the same and I know it's a Starrett. Mine probably goes back to the 1930's. I got a new "no glare" blade for mine because the old blade was pretty worn and hard to read. I use the square on a regular basis and it's still accurate (I checked it).

Mike

william watts
05-30-2014, 1:06 PM
I have a Starrett combination square, from my father, and both the rule and the head are marked. The head on yours has beading around the edges and a cross hatch pattern on the the body. Mine has neither of those. Yours looks like an older version, that is prettier, and still has the scribe that is lost on mine.

Michael Kellough
05-30-2014, 3:12 PM
Yes, that is an early Starrett head.

Here is an even earlier version, maybe the first, that show close similarity, if you ignore the huge embossed cast lettering.

Larry Browning
05-30-2014, 3:39 PM
I have one that looks just like it. It was my father's. He worked sheet metal building aircraft. The only markings on it are his initials stamped on the edge of the head.(JFB) Maybe that is what the CER is on yours. Mine however is not in very good shape. The ruler won't hardly slide, and there is lots of play in it. So much so that it is not usable. I think the shaft used to hold it in place is broken. I remember it being that way when I was a child. I guess I should try to repair it, but do not know where to get replacement parts, especially if it is a Starrett.

Keith Pitman