PDA

View Full Version : I need to spray- STAT!

Dave Zellers
05-25-2014, 7:26 PM
I have some experience with spraying finishes with acceptable results but today I experienced the 'undersized compressor' problem.

My first thought was to buy a bigger compressor but now I'm thinking something like an Earlex would be smarter. I'll be spraying everything from urethane to latex paint.

Looking for advice from experienced users. My focus is on quality within reason. $500 - $600 would be acceptable.

bob cohen
05-25-2014, 8:01 PM
Love my apollo 4-stage. Originally got the 3-stage unit, but it would not handle latex paint, even with dilution. I know lots of people are happy with their Earlex's, but its hard for me to believe they can handle latex paint, when the apollo three stage could not. The apollo's specs are better in every category.

Dave Zellers
05-25-2014, 8:06 PM
Thank you, Googling Apollo....

Dave Zellers
05-25-2014, 8:09 PM
Yikes! That's double my price range...

...but does not rule it out.

Spraying latex is a big part of this.

Thanks.

Gilbert Vega
05-25-2014, 8:14 PM
I have the Earlex HV5500 and have used it to spray latex without any problems. I used it to paint a fireplace mantel I made up for the living room.

Dave Zellers
05-25-2014, 10:30 PM
Yeah, this is going to be a tough decision. I've always heard good things about Earlex.

Jason Roehl
05-26-2014, 7:43 AM
If you want to spray latexes, I would recommend getting a pressure pot setup that's hooked to a compressor. I think it's much more reliable in terms of fluid delivery to the tip, rather than relying on the siphon action with solely a turbine.

Curt Harms
05-26-2014, 11:12 AM
If you want to spray latexes, I would recommend getting a pressure pot setup that's hooked to a compressor. I think it's much more reliable in terms of fluid delivery to the tip, rather than relying on the siphon action with solely a turbine.