PDA

View Full Version : Garden Cart (two bicycle wheeled wheelbarrow) - Should I build one?

Ken Frohnert
05-25-2014, 11:19 AM
I am thinking about a garden cart. There is a used one for sale locally for $75. It is in okay shape and would give me the hardware. I believe it is 1/2 plywood.

Or should I try and build one. I thought I could get an old bicycle for the tires. But I would need to get an axle, angle iron, and tubing.
I was thinking if I built one using 3/4 plywood. But I could buy the used one and eventually rebuild it if when it fell apart and I would have the parts and a model to work off of - may work for years as it is.

Do any of you own one and if so did you build it or buy it? What would you do if you were to do it over again?

If you built it where did you get the parts?

Are there good plans to build one that are not to difficult I am a beginner-intermediate level woodworker?

To build or buy that is the question?

Thanks

Jamie Buxton
05-25-2014, 11:56 AM
Where is the cart going to live when it is not being used? If the answer is that it will be outside in the weather, I'd buy a plastic one. It'll stand weather better than a wooden one. If you have sheltered storage for the cart, then wood would be okay.

Dan Rude
05-25-2014, 12:05 PM