PDA

View Full Version : Trotec VS. Universal

Alice Labaton
05-22-2014, 10:05 AM
Hey guys,
I'm new to Sawmillcreek and been reading up on co2 laser engraving machines.
My use for the engraving machine would be very simple -- I engrave names and sayings on the handles of makeup brushes mymakeupbrushesdotcom. I have an engraving company on staff at the moment but due to increase of size am looking to bring the engraving in house.
I've done my fair share of research on Epilog, Universal, Trotec and Gravograph. Only had demos on the Epilog and Universal lasers.
As of now, I think I narrowed down my choices to Universal and Trotec as they seem to be the leading providers and from what I can tell the job control is an important factor (how important to my business, I'm not too sure).
I was looking into the RayJet 50- 30 Watt and the Speedy 300 from Trotec. From Universal VLS 2.30- 30 Watt.
Aside from pricing, right now I am leaning towards Universal because they have a local sales rep that is willing to service it past the 2 yrs.
For what i do, i think all will suit my needs but just wanted to get feedback on differences between the 2.
For spare parts, are they all pretty similar? pricing...? Is it a generic piece or something that you would have to purchase from the company themselves?
Also, I'm located in NY but the nearest show isnt until September. There is a show in Indianapolis mid June, any idea if I'd be able to purchase a unit over the phone or do I have to be there in person in order to get the show special?
Is the show pricing really that much better?

Mike Null
05-22-2014, 11:33 AM
Alice

welcome to SMC. I am pretty sure you can get the show prices even if you can't attend. But you'll probably have to insist on it.

We do not permit linking to one's own site so I have disabled your link. You have an interesting concept.

Dan Hintz
05-22-2014, 11:57 AM