PDA

View Full Version : Need a little bit of help

Michele Welch
05-19-2014, 9:44 PM
I'm working on some "shelf sitter" signs that are 1 3/4" tall and 9" wide. They will be made out of poplar and painted and then I will laser out the wording. I don't have any issues when rastering the lettering out, my problem comes when I need to vector the lettering out. I've attached a picture to explain a little bit better of what I'm needing to do. The lettering needs to be "engraved" into the wood versus "etched" into it. How would I accomplish this? I'm still fairly new to my machine and have been able to do some pretty good work with it but this has me stumped. Any help is appreciated. I have a 5th gen FS laser, 45w.

Thanks y'all!

Michele289679

Clark Pace
05-19-2014, 10:26 PM
Engraved and etched to me mean the same thing? Do you mean you want the laser to follow the lines of the font? In other words cut a thin line? Also what software are you using?

Michele Welch
05-19-2014, 10:59 PM
Engraved and etched to me mean the same thing? Do you mean you want the laser to follow the lines of the font? In other words cut a thin line? Also what software are you using?

Im sorry, I didn't make myself clear. When I think engraved, I think vectored lines and etched is raster filled areas. If you can tell by the picture the letters are all deep vectored into the wood but without leaving any areas still painted. So it's vectoring out the entire letter. I'm just not sure how to set this type of file up to be done. I'm using Illustrator. Thanks

Joe Pelonio
05-19-2014, 11:04 PM