PDA

View Full Version : A story about wood (related to coffin smoother)

Moses Yoder
05-15-2014, 6:13 PM
The comments on the cost of ebony in the coffin smoother thread brought to mind the acquisition of the wood, I thought I would share the story. Wood Central had a gathering of members about ten years ago just north of Indy IN. It was a 4 hour drive for me if I remember and I took a tent and spent the night camped out. As a woodworker I make a comfortable living, above average for woodworkers, but there is very little extra income and most of that is spent on my wife's hobbies and clothing. My skill with money is such that in order to remain living with my wife I am allowed a small stipend and am forbidden to carry credit cards or any other form of money. My gas money comes out of my stipend, the rest I spend as I wish. So here I am at the WoodCentral gathering, ready for a day of learning from fellow woodworkers, including a planing competition, finding myself really hyped. About 9:30 am Saturday morning I was observing the festivities in my lawn chair when I thought I would wander around and see what was to see. I saw a couple guys gathered around a truck down the lane and went to investigate. Here were two sons who had lost their father a while back and were getting rid of his wood stash. He made blocks, about 1-1/4" square, for kids to play with. They mentioned that they had thought about burning it but then decided they could possibly make some money with it and get it into the hands of people who would use it.