PDA

View Full Version : hickory tree coming down

david hines
06-26-2005, 6:08 PM
Hi all , I am looking to go from tree to lumber, I have never done this before. The tree is between 36 and 24 inches diameter up to about 30 feet. the tree guy says the first 30 40 feet is usable for milling.Is there a local sawyer that will come to site or is this not enough to justify the expense? I would also like to get this kiln dried, can anyone give me an idea of the costs involved and the board feet of wood i can hope to end up with? thanks all for any and all replies
david hines

Kevin Post
06-26-2005, 8:17 PM
You can find listings of WoodMizer portable sawmill operators on their web site. I've sent you a PM with information.

-Kevin

Alden Miller
06-26-2005, 10:33 PM
David, use what you can for wood but I know that anybody that barbecues ought to be interested in anything over 4" - 5" in diameter.

If you have any larger leftovers that can be used for barbecuing, drop them off at Larry's house (he's in LaPlata also) and I'll arrange to pick them up.

As for getting it sawn up, do like Kevin says about the woodmizer site or see if any of the amish sawmills in your area can handle it.

-Alden

Ian Abraham
06-26-2005, 10:44 PM
By my maths there should be over 750 bd ft in that log. (that assumes a log 24" x 30ft) You should recover a little more than that as the butt log is going to be slightly bigger and a band mill should recover a little more than 'scale'. You may need to pay an extra setup fee or a some minimum charge for a sawyer to come in for one tree, but it's probabably still worth doing.

Cheers

Ian

Brad Smith
06-27-2005, 12:17 AM
Rates vary over geographical areas as well as between sawyers, depending on the sophistication of the mill they use, so quoting prices is difficult when we don't know the going rate in your area. To help you out though, here is a rough guess.