PDA

View Full Version : A Very Odd Experience including my Hello

Tom Billardello
05-09-2014, 12:15 AM
First of all, let me introduce myself to the forum(s). My name is Tom, I am a college student and a hobby woodworker. I've had a niche for building things out of wood all my life and over the past year I've really gotten into the finer craft of woodworking. Believe it or not what sparked my interest of such, was simply procuring a piece of very beautiful curly maple. I remember when I first got it (a good friend of mine gave it to me for no reason apparently) all I wanted to do was make something with it. However my preservative nature prevented me from doing such until I've honed my craft enough to not completely butcher the board :rolleyes:.

Well well well enough of the introductions and onto the actual point of my first ever sawmill thread.

I've recently been using bastard files and the like to clean up joinery on my small box projects and have run into quite the odd phenomenon:

MY FINGERS TURN COMPLETELY BLACK! After using the files, and I have tried every little thing to my knowledge to clean them, without prevail. I have tried everything from Gojo citrus/pumice hand cleaner, mineral spirits, denatured alcohol, 3-in-1 oil, WD-40, powdered laundry detergent, bar keepers friend (on a shammy towel with scrubbing), dawn dish soap. Seriously everything I can think of!

So this is my question to the knowledge-base of the SawmillCreek community:
What do you suggest that I use to remove the black residue from my hands? And also if you could, provide some insight into what this substance could be?

And the funny thing is, it seems to only leave residue on my project boards :D . Literally nothing else does it come off of my fingers onto, even white printer paper.
I've tried searching around a bit and have not come up with any viable solutions (clearly), so hopefully someone can shed some light on this issue for me.