PDA

View Full Version : Frame and panel cabinet door help

Ray Bohn
04-27-2014, 10:32 PM
Since this is my first attempt at this, any help would be appreciated. I want to make mortise and tenon mission style cabinet doors by hand.

What width and thickness would be appropriate for frame stock? The cabinet openings are 17" H x 15" W.

It seems that 1/4" panel stock seems to be popular.

I have a good range of bench planes, bench and mortise chisels, 044 plow plane w/full set of cutters, router plane, and the marking tools I need.

Any tips, suggestions, questions?

Thanks

Jeff Heath
04-28-2014, 12:41 AM
I make my doors 7/8" thick, and 2 3/4" wide, most of the time. On larger moulded doors, I have gone to 3". As far as a panel goes, if you're making a flat panel, I prefer 3/8" thick, with a perimeter rabbet, and turn the raised face to the back side if you want a flat panel look. 1/4" panels are too thin and twangy sounding, when you pluck one. Use a thicker panel.

Ray Bohn
04-28-2014, 9:24 AM
Jeff,

Thank you for replying to my post. You provided all the information that I needed to start on this first time project.

Jim Matthews
04-28-2014, 9:56 AM
I would caution a first time builder about building doors with mortise and tenon construction.
It is not trivial to cut all four mortises and the mating tenons in the same plane.

Consider the humble bridle joint, which can be made without chisels or through holes
and is very strong. It can be tarted up with drawbored pegs, if more holding power is desired.

Judson Green
04-28-2014, 10:01 AM