PDA

View Full Version : Felder F700Z Shaper Opportunit.....Input Requested

Clay Fails
04-25-2014, 1:24 PM
I have an opportunity to purchase a 2003 Felder F700Z shaper which the seller says has NEVER been used. The package would include:
-the shaper which is 7.5 HP/3 phase;
-fence, hold downs and guards;
-a phase converter for 3ph to single ph;
-spindles 30mm and 1 1/4, along with router bit collet adapters;
-10 brand new Felder cutter heads (I don't have a complete list yet);
-some kind of sanding disk (not sure what this is);
-Vario 4 speed feeder;
-miscellaneous accessories.

Seller wants $12,000. I would need to rent a uhaul and drive 6 hours to pick it up, which is not a big deal. Seller will be sending me photos and a complete list of the package.

it's more machine than I had in mind, but I'm wondering if it's a good opportunity. What does the braintrust think about the Felder machine itself, and then the asking price for the package?

I'm a hobbyist right now, in the process of expanding my shop capability. I have never had a shaper before, am using router table for these types of operations.

thanks for the input guys!

Jeff Duncan
04-25-2014, 2:15 PM
I can't speak to the value of the package as you would have to cost all the components of it, but I have to admit I'm envious one could drop $12k on a machine to use for hobby use:eek:

If you want to save a few bucks I could sell you an older Martin for about 1/3 of that price, you'd just have to drive a little farther;)

good luck,
JeffD

David Kumm
04-25-2014, 2:43 PM