PDA

View Full Version : Low Angle Block Plane - chatter?

Jules Dominguez
06-24-2005, 5:16 PM
I'm a newbie at serious planing, so here I am with another question. Received a Veritas Low Angle Block Plane with a 1/8" thick A-2 alloy blade for Father's Day. It has a 25 degree main bevel. I added a 30 degree microbevel and started trying it out. It does a fine job on side grain, but I'm getting what I've always supposed was "chatter" on the end grain of a piece of cherry. The plane was cutting the end grain cleanly and smoothly, nice shavings (to my perception, at least). Are these fine lines perpendicular to the direction of planing "chatter" ? I was really surprised to see it, after all of the raves I've read about the thick blades and low angle planes. Any suggestions? I'm looking for help again.
The attached pictures show the end grain and shavings from a roughly 3/4" cherry board which prompted this post.

Richard Wolf
06-24-2005, 8:45 PM
Two thinks I noticed, 1) what is the line that runs with the direction you are planing, is there a slight nick in the blade? That may produce chatter. 2) The chip laying in the picture looks a little heavy for an end grain cut. Back the blade out a bit.
Also skewing the plane at an angle will help reduce chatter and give a cleaner cut.

Richard

Tom LaRussa
06-24-2005, 9:03 PM
I'm a newbie at serious planing, so here I am with another question. Received a Veritas Low Angle Block Plane with a 1/8" thick A-2 alloy blade for Father's Day. It has a 25 degree main bevel. I added a 30 degree microbevel and started trying it out.

Jules,

I think at least part of the problem lies in your microbevel.

A 30 degree microbevel plus the 12 degree bedding angle of the plane itself equals a 42 degree cutting angle instead of the 37 degree cutting angle the plane is supposed to have.