PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide on some new water stones

Dennis Hawkins
04-21-2014, 8:16 PM
Greetings all

I'm in the market for my first set of water stones and I have it narrowed down to two choices.
(1) Shapton Pro Orange 1000 and Pro Melon 8000
or
(2) The Sigma Power ceramic set 1000 + 6000 .

I'm going to also buy the iWood #300 to keep them flat.

I'm a hobby woodworker with a small collection of hand tools in both A2 and O1 steel.

I've never used water stones so I have zip for knowledge on this stuff.

I know there are numbers of members who have hands-on experience with both of these products and would like some advice as to why I might choose one set over the other.

Thank you for your time.
Dennis.

Jim Koepke
04-21-2014, 8:25 PM
Dennis,

I am not really the one to know the ins and outs of particular water stones. I also do not know if those are stones Stu is selling or if you are using a different source.

Stu is at toosfromjapan.com

Most folks here who have ordered from him are very happy.

I also like to have a stone between the 1K and the 8K. My in between is a 4K.

I am all excited because two translucent Arks, one slipstones and one triangle shape, came today. Put an old gouge to one and being new it is cutting fast for an Arkansas stone.

jtk

Dennis Hawkins
04-21-2014, 8:43 PM
Yes Jim
I'm looking at both sets of stones on the toolsfromjapan website .
I would like some feedback from those on this forum who have actually used either or both of these products. I'm totally green on this one.
I'm thinking the two stone set-up will get me started and do most of what I need. I'm just not sure about which way to go. There is some money difference between the two sets but the cost alone is not going to drive my decision.

Jim Koepke
04-21-2014, 9:21 PM
My preference is for a finer stone than a 6,000.

Just my opinion that the sharper the tool is when it is put to work the longer it will be before it needs another trip to the stones.

jtk