PDA

View Full Version : New to site with BS question

Dave Mapes
06-23-2005, 8:05 PM
:) Just discovered this site after lurking in a few others and had to join.

I'm new to woodworking as I just retired and am beginning a lifelong desire.
As a first project I am building my grand daughter a Curio Cabinet that has really become a learning experience.

Shop has a TS, planner, radial Arm , drill press, , router table. I am looking at BS and really like the lungna LT16 but cost is a factor. I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with the Grizzly 17".

Mike Cutler
06-23-2005, 9:38 PM
Dave. I don't have any experience with either of those saws, but I know that there are a few members on the board that have the Grizzly, and like it alot, and there are also some that have the Laguna and speak highly of it.
This past winter seemed to be "bandsaw winter", it was as if everyone, me included, was eyeballing new bandsaws. I'm sure a search would keep ya' busy for awhile
Mostly I just wanted to say welcome to the board, and pleased to meet ya'

Ken Fitzgerald
06-23-2005, 10:46 PM
Welcome to the Creek Dave! Neat place to trade information. If you have access to last years FWW magazines ....They tested 18" bandsaws. Might be worth the read. Again.....Welcome to the Creek!

Cecil Arnold
06-23-2005, 11:10 PM
Welcome. As Ken says, FWW did a review and found the Rikon (sp?) to be a really good value. I don't work for them and have a mm16.

John Miliunas
06-23-2005, 11:36 PM