PDA

View Full Version : Bevel Up Jointer: LN vs LV

Cory Waldrop
04-09-2014, 12:56 PM
Hey guys,

I did some searching but couldn't find a good comparison of the bevel up jointers from LV and LN (usually comparing BU and BD). Those who have had hands on both, which do you prefer and why? Any reason to buy one over another?

Thanks

Kent A Bathurst
04-09-2014, 1:10 PM
Getcher popcorn out and watch the show coming to you on this screen !!

:p :p

Curt Putnam
04-09-2014, 1:15 PM
Mostly you will get 3 replies: LV, LN and get a BD

If you have preference for either LV or LN you have your answer. I vastly prefer the shape of the LV tote and both need and enjoy the fact that blades are usable in 3 different planes. Being a relative noob, I also enjoy the easily attachable fence for the LV. Check the feel of the tote in your hand, after all you'll be pushing the thing a lot. That issue alone could decide it. If you also want to do shooting then you also need to get the LV bevel up jack - which has been assigned that role in the system. Both LN and LV produce superior tools. You will be happy with the performance of either one.

IMO & YMMV

Cory Waldrop
04-09-2014, 1:28 PM
Kent... That is funny, I guess asking LV vs LN is a little dangerous. In all seriousness, a buddy asked me this question and I didn't have a good answer so I thought I would ask the masses.

Curt... Thanks for your insight. I have the LV BU Jack and it is one of my favorite planes. I didn't think of tote preferences so that is very useful. I also read that the sides of the LV jointer are not square to the edges so it cannot be used on a shooting board or used to check flatness by referencing the corner of the plane against a board.