PDA

View Full Version : I am looking for wide belt sander advice

Brian Cosgrove
04-07-2014, 4:53 PM
Hi. I am in the market for a wide belt sander. I am a serious hobbiest and will be the only one using it, likely a few hours a week maximum. Based on my anticipated need, I have decided that I want a 36 or 37 inch single head unit. In an attempt to keep the footprint as small as possible, I have come to the conclusion that a used SCMI sandya uno or sandya 1k might be best for me. I looked at Timesavers, but they all seem to be significantly larger for the same width sanding capacity. Is there anyone who has an opinion, one way or the other on either of these machines, or which one might be better for me? I am assuming that the Sandya 1k, being the newer model, might have more electronics that can break, etc, but I am not sure....just my thought. I guess I am looking for input as I am new to wide belts and want to have something I am happy with.

Thanks for the help,

Brian Cosgrove

Mike Heidrick
04-07-2014, 5:06 PM
A Timesaver speedsaver is smaller than the full on Timesaver. It is import and would be perfect for a hobbyiest/prosumer/small shop owner. Can be purchased in 7.5 and 10hp single phase as well. They have a VFD built in which is how it is single phase. Should be able to purchase new for less than 10K.

Brian Cosgrove
04-07-2014, 5:19 PM
Mike, Thanks for the reply. I did consider the Speedsander and like it a lot, however, I did notice the maximum sanding thickness is 4" vs. 6 1/4" for the mentioned SCMI machines. I think I would rarely/ever need the extra thickness but don't want to be limited if needed.

Loren Woirhaye
04-07-2014, 5:21 PM
Wide belts can get pretty beat up in pro shops. Replacement conveyer belts are expensive. They do sell them off wide belts insanely cheap on ebay sometimes though.