PDA

View Full Version : Which saw to keep? Rockwell 12/14 " vs Rockwell 34-450 10" Unisaw

Joshua Richards
04-04-2014, 10:21 AM
So, I recently bid on a couple table saws which are coming out of business which is no longer... well, in business I guess you'd say. As luck would have it, they both went way cheaper than I'd been expecting and now I've ended up with two saws where I really just need the one.

First, the 10" Rockwell Unisaw.286422

And the beast : 286423

Granted, the Unisaw is in better condition... but I don't think it will take much effort the get the monster restored and working smoothly. I intend on selling one and keeping one for my personal use. My initial inclination is that 'bigger is better' but I am now wondering if I'd be better off selling the monstrosity and keeping the smaller saw for my own use. I'm a hobbyist / collector (I like old machines), so I probably wouldn't need a massive amount of power any time soon... but having a 12-14" blade just seems like an awesome thing.

Myk Rian
04-04-2014, 10:42 AM
All depends on how much room you have to walk around it.
Those 12/14s are huge, and I can't see much need for me to cut 4x4s with a table saw.

Jeff Duncan
04-04-2014, 10:47 AM
Big saws allow you more capacity and are certainly useful. I know a lot of guys will just automatically say "bigger is better" which can sometimes be true. However keep in mind there are potential downsides to bigger. For instance, all the little aftermarket gadgetry and whatnot for 10" saws will not work for you. Most of the commonly available miter gauges and other items are almost exclusively sized for 10" saws. Your blades will be more expensive and you'll need more power. Also the blade is located further back from the front which can be awkward for some folks. Plus they're just, well, bigger! If you have a small shop then the footprint of a bigger saw can eat up a whole lot of real estate.