PDA

View Full Version : Glue for miter joints in 3/8 material

Ron Humphrey
03-27-2014, 7:44 PM
I would like to make 3/8 thick walled boxes out of various hardwoods. The sizes will vary but as an average they will be, approximately 6” x 9” & 4” deep. I have some experience with ½” thick miter joints with corner splines for strength that work well. I would like to avoid the splines in the 3/8 if possible.

Currently, for the ½” stock I apply a very little yellow glue (Titebond I or II. Elmers etc.) mixed with some water on my finger onto the end grain of all the pieces, wait until it absorbs into the end grain for a few minutes, but is still tacky and then add more glue and clamp up.

Is just glue, using the same technique, but without the splines, going to be strong enough? Is there a type of glue that would work better? Would epoxy be better than yellow glue? Any other techniques for assuring a strong joint?

johnny means
03-27-2014, 8:57 PM
End grain to end grain joints are very weak. Generally they need to be mechanically reinforced. Sometimes epoxies will do the job, but they'll be ugly thick joints.

John Schweikert
03-27-2014, 8:59 PM
If you are dead set on a miter joint then I'd suggest a miter lock router bit. They make them for stock as thin as 3/8". Simple search:

https://www.google.com/search?q=3%2F8%22+miter+lock+router+bit&oq=3%2F8%22+miter+lock+router+bit&aqs=chrome..69i57j69i58.7210j0j7&sourceid=chrome&espv=210&es_sm=91&ie=UTF-8

Ron Humphrey
03-27-2014, 9:16 PM
That's why I'm asking if there is a glue/adhesive that overcomes the inherent weakness

Ron Humphrey
03-27-2014, 9:20 PM
Thanks John, I bit the bullet and bought one from Infinity. Received it last week, but haven't had time to run tests, but am a little leery of getting a good joint in 3/8 and fishing for others experience with glues for thin miters.

John Schweikert
03-27-2014, 9:36 PM