PDA

View Full Version : Screws...Which Do You Use?

Derek Arita
03-25-2014, 11:01 AM
I'm finally running down to my last Phillips head screws and I'm looking to switch heads. I originally wanted to go with square drives, but on a recent trip to HD, the hardware guy recommended Star drives as the next big thing...so I went for it and purchased a few boxes. Now I'm thinking I made a mistake and should have stuck with the Squares. What do you think?
By the way, the reason I'm switching is because I'm tired of having to constantly replace phillips bits in my drivers. I've had limited experience with Square drives, but have been impressed with the positive hold of bit to head.

Myk Rian
03-25-2014, 11:06 AM
We recently replaced carpet in 3 bedrooms, and I screwed the floor boards down with GRK screws. They have a T-25 star head, and I never missed with a single one, out of several hundred screws.

steven taggart
03-25-2014, 11:11 AM
Good quality T star heads are the only screws I use, and I use a lot. The cheap ones break off in the screw and cause random profanity. I buy my drivers at the hardware store, in a bulk bin. I don't know the brand, but they run about $2 a piece, and last forever. The cheap ones, like in the value pack I bought at HD, last about three screws.

peter gagliardi
03-25-2014, 11:15 AM
Been using square drive for almost 20 years now. I get them from Gardner screw in Gardner MA. They are a very tough, and break resistant screw with a fairly thick shank. I use 15-20,000 per year. They never strip out, and are tough enough to drive into most hardwoods with no issue. I hate constantly changing drivers, and looking for " the other style" than what is currently in the tool. I tried the star drive, they work just as good, but usually cost more, and are harder to find if you run a little short. I see no reason why we had to start changing when the square drive was just becoming mainstream?

Andrew Gold
03-25-2014, 11:17 AM