PDA

View Full Version : Makita angle grinders

Andrei Georgescu
03-25-2014, 7:52 AM
I've decided I need an angle grinder for cutting some 15 - 30 mm iron bars. After seeing a review on youtube of Makita vs Bosch grinders I think it will be a Makita.

We don't have the exact models in Europe as in the US but the equivalents would be

http://www.makitatools.com/en-us/Modules/Tools/ToolDetails.aspx?Name=9557PB
and
http://www.makitatools.com/en-us/Modules/Tools/ToolDetails.aspx?Name=9557PB

The first is about 100 USD and the second about 180 USD in our stores.
Should I buy the small or the bigger one?
I have no experience in grinders but I'm expecting to use one pretty often in my workshop on building various reinforced advertising panels.

Rich Engelhardt
03-25-2014, 8:22 AM
I've been using this one for about three years:

http://www.harborfreight.com/power-tools/grinders-buffers/4-12-angle-grinder-60625.html

A bigger one will probably cut faster and a smaller one will probably get into tighter places.
I like the 4.5" one I have since it gets into some tight places.

I mostly use mine for cutting off toilet bolts that have become too corroded to remove with a wrench.

BTW - your links go to the same tool.

Andrei Georgescu
03-25-2014, 8:29 AM
Ugh. Sorry about that
http://www.makitatools.com/en-us/Modules/Tools/ToolDetails.aspx?Name=GA7020

Thanks for the reply.

Steve Rozmiarek
03-25-2014, 8:47 AM
Makita makes good grinders, pretty much the standard by which others are judged.

Jak Kelly
03-25-2014, 8:52 AM
One of the primary reasons I have never purchased Bosch tools are the "horror" story's related to warranty or getting parts, if it breaks.
I would have thought that a European resident would have better luck? Otherwise I would have owned several of their tools over the years.
I have had issues with Makita and getting parts for their tools as well, not so much getting the part but they sure do seem proud of any repair parts they sale.