PDA

View Full Version : Huge Dining Room Cabinet Thing Worth Refinishing?

Steve H Graham
03-22-2014, 4:31 PM
I am clearing out a house that was inhabited by a drug addict. She left a big piece of furniture behind. I am not a furniture expert, so I don't know what it's called, but it's a long, low piece made for holding things like china. It sits in the dining room beside the table location. It's about six feet long and three feet high. At the ends it has doors that swing outward, with shelves inside. Between these cabinet areas, it has about four drawers. It's very heavy.

I don't think it's an antique, but it's quality solid-wood furniture. If I had to make a wild guess, I would say it was made between 1950 and 1970. I can't tell what kind of wood it is. It's dark brown.

The humidity in the house has split one panel on the front of a door. I think it could be glued back together by a skilled person. The finish is generally crappy. It has rat poop on the top. There are drawer pulls and things missing.

My question: is a thing like this worth having refinished? The crack will have to be fixed, and the handles will have to be replaced. It will need a thorough going-over. The current finish is really not acceptable.

I don't have a photo I can post right now.

Edit: I found something on Ebay which is similar in quality and style, but mine is darker and has drawers. item# 360767697024

George Bokros
03-22-2014, 5:21 PM
I believe that is called a buffet or maybe a sideboard.

scott vroom
03-22-2014, 5:26 PM
Hard to answer without seeing a photo of the piece you're considering refinishing.

Pat Barry
03-22-2014, 6:12 PM