PDA

View Full Version : Working with soft maple…..and planer

Justin Jump
03-19-2014, 7:30 AM
This is my first time working with soft maple, picked up some to build some cabinet mock up parts and practice.

Anyways, any advice, up until now, I have really only worked with Ash, Walnut, Polar, Oak……

The one thing I did notice, is that running them on my jointer and planer, I am getting some tear out. I did just replace the blades on both machines (Ridgid 6” jointer and the Ridgid 13” planer) last year, but is it time to freshen them up already?

The planer is easy, I would love to not have to go through the process on the jointer again, but if it needs it,,,it needs it. I am getting just small variations in the cut, I tried to take a picture, but it would not show up on camera.

Also, any advice on how to get rid of the unwanted “snipe”? Until now, I followed the easiest method, and just cut the board 6” longer and cut the snipe off, but I would hate to waste that material on the maple.

Thinking of selling the older style Ridigd 4330 on CL, and getting the new 4331, any one use both?

THX

Jack Lemley
03-19-2014, 8:55 AM
This is my first time working with soft maple, picked up some to build some cabinet mock up parts and practice.

Anyways, any advice, up until now, I have really only worked with Ash, Walnut, Polar, Oak……

The one thing I did notice, is that running them on my jointer and planer, I am getting some tear out. I did just replace the blades on both machines (Ridgid 6” jointer and the Ridgid 13” planer) last year, but is it time to freshen them up already?

The planer is easy, I would love to not have to go through the process on the jointer again, but if it needs it,,,it needs it. I am getting just small variations in the cut, I tried to take a picture, but it would not show up on camera.