PDA

View Full Version : Corel Draw, order/direction of vectors within shape

PETE SCARPERO
03-16-2014, 9:46 PM
Hi all, first post here. New owner of a Rayjet 300, having a great time exploring its capabilities.

I'm also relatively new to Corel Draw (using X6 on a Vista machine), as I had been using Illustrator previously. I'm learning it quickly and really enjoying it, however the answer to one issue continues to elude me, despite heavy google searching.

I know how to set the cut sequence by using Object Manager, but the problem I'm having is finding an easy/quick way to set the order of vectors that make up a specific shape/curve.

Let's say I make a square, but instead of using the square tool I connect 4 line segments together. I know that if I select all 4 segments and click "combine" that the machine will treat it as a single curve and cut it entirely before moving on to another shape. The problem is, unless I manually set the order of each segment within that shape in the Object Manager prior to combining it into a single curve, the laser may jump around cutting different segments of the shape rather than starting at one point and moving in a continuous path around the shape back to the start node. This issue also includes my having to manually set the vector direction of some segments using the shape tool's "reverse direction" function.

I've got to believe there's a way to select a collection of segments that make up a shape and tell Corel to combine them in such a way that it picks a start node, puts the segments in order from that node and sets them all in the appropriate direction, so the resulting cut is a smooth motion. I used a square as an example but I'm making much more complex shapes where manual ordering would prove quite arduous.

Any help would be greatly appreciated; my sincere thanks in advance!

Ronald Erickson
03-16-2014, 10:12 PM