PDA

View Full Version : Stanley #4 Cap Iron/Frog question

Pete Hotard
03-12-2014, 10:03 PM
So I'm new to this whole, buy an old tool and bring it back to life thing. But a few weeks ago I bought a nice type 10 #4c at an estate sale. Cleaned everything up and it looks nice and goes together well. The only problem I'm having is that when I advance the iron forward the screw that holds the cap iron to the cutting iron bottoms out in its little hole in the frog before the iron comes through the throat. Now I can get it to take a shaving if I close the throat almost as tight as possible. I would think the iron is long enough as it is longer than the iron of my other stanley knock off #4 that is quite similar. Don't think in doing anything wrong....maybe the cap iron is short or something. Maybe I should just break down and order a Hock Iron set, but I would love to keep the original pieces in it if at all possible as it is the first plane I have ever restored. TIA

Dave Paine
03-12-2014, 10:10 PM
I have an old No. 5, perhaps Type 8. The cap iron was thin and I did a test using a cap iron from a later type. I could not get the blade to protrude beyond the sole. What the heck!!!!!

I compared the original cap iron to later ones, and the hole placement was different. Big surprise.

I think your cap iron may not be original. A small difference in the placement of the hole in the cap iron can mean a replacement may, or may not, work.

So much for the Stanley parts being easily interchangeable.

Jim Koepke
03-12-2014, 11:52 PM
So much for the Stanley parts being easily interchangeable.

It may be from a Millers Falls, Sargent or some other maker's plane.

Pete,

The problem isn't with the blade. The problem is with the chip breaker not having the correct layout to match your frog. I have also seen some of these with an much older screw installed. Some of the older screws were not knurled and the head was larger.

jtk

David M Anderson
03-13-2014, 9:02 AM