PDA

View Full Version : 23g pinner questions

Greg Urwiller
03-11-2014, 10:49 PM
I stopped into HF the other day and picked up some of their F style clamps to try. While I was there I saw the 23g pinner they carry and since I've been considering trying one of these (hadn't decided what brand yet) I grabbed one. Picked up a box of 1" pins too. I tried it today, but since I didn't have anything specific to try it on I just grabbed a small scrap pc of QSWO. I just started shooting pins to see how far the cheap HF would put them into the oak, just basically playing. Wow, these pins went everywhere! I even had several horseshoe right back out 1/4" away. Since I've never had one of these before, I was rather surprised. I know the oak is hard, but is this typical of hardwoods in general? I know there's a lot better quality pinners out there, will these work any differently than the HF? Is there any difference in pin quality too? Thanks. Greg

Wade Lippman
03-11-2014, 11:32 PM
My Grex will put about 15% in weird directions; the pins tend to follow the grain.
But no, of the thousand or so I have shot, not one has come close to a horseshoe.
The worst is maybe a half inch in, then turning a right angle.

peter gagliardi
03-11-2014, 11:50 PM
Higher quality guns, along with higher quality pins make a huge difference!! Also, the pins go in the gun one way only. I use only hardwood, a Grex gun, and an Omer gun, along with Grex pins, and in about 10 years have had no more than a half dozen pins go awry.

Greg Urwiller
03-12-2014, 12:00 AM
Occasionally I'd like to pin something to hold it in place so I can clamp it. So far, I haven't really had a huge need for one, but since they (HF) always come up in pinner threads, I thought this would be a low cost tool to test out with. Obviously I've got some more testing to do, but I'm really not impressed with the HF model so far. It'll still give an me an idea if I'm going to use one enough to warrant buying a better gun or not.