PDA

View Full Version : Staining Poplar

Dave Zellers
03-10-2014, 9:43 PM
I have to make a fancy mantel for a client and she wants it stained rather dark. I will be using poplar.

I have searched here and learned a lot about staining & finishing poplar. I have ordered General Finishes Brown Mahogany & Espresso EF stain, Dark Walnut TRANSTINT dye and EF P/A Finish Satin. The consensus seems to be:

- sand smooooooth, wet, let dry and sand again.
- dye and seal with non wax shellac. Sand again?
- stain. I'll experiment with number of coats and which color(s).
- do I need to shellac again?
- clear finish.

My questions-
Do I need to spray the dye? I've never used dye before but I'm looking forward to it. I'd prefer to brush or wipe everything but if I have to spray some or all the steps I could do that. I haven't sprayed anything in decades but water based spraying is less daunting than the oil based I used to do.

Does 2 coats of weaker dye color have any advantage over 1 coat of stronger dye?

Any and all advice is more than welcome.

John TenEyck
03-11-2014, 10:56 AM
Try everything on scrap first and let that be your guide. Poplar actually stains very nicely with oil based stains, but it also can blotch badly. I've had blotching problems with dye, too, and finally realized that if I spray it on I can avoid that problem. I spray only enough to wet the wood, no excess that would allow the dye to be pulled into the areas that want to blotch. And no wiping after it's sprayed; I just let it dry. This works great for me. So, no you don't necessarily need to spray the dye, but it works great for me. I typically only spray one coat, but you have to spray it very evenly not to get streaks. If that's a problem, two or three coats at lower concentration will reduce that problem, but will take a lot longer.