PDA

View Full Version : 1/2" Delta Benchtop Mortiser

Dominic Carpenter
03-08-2014, 12:38 PM
Well my relatively new Delta Benchtop Mortimer just broke on me. Bought new in April last year. Something broke inside the arm mechanism while putting a 1 1/4" deep mortise in some walnut. I have always been mindful of taking light cuts, but none the less she gave out. Sending it to service next week, still under warranty. Got me thinking, I paid just over $300 for this machine. Maybe I should dig a little deeper and get something that is a little more industrial (floor model). I am a hobbyist, but a serious one and occasionally do commission work. Does anyone own the Grizzly floor model? What do you think? I am not a fan of the router for making mortises. I'll be cutting the rest by hand while I Wait.

Dominic Carpenter
03-08-2014, 12:52 PM
Maybe a Festool Domino?

Don Huffer
03-08-2014, 3:08 PM
I would suggest waiting on the replacement and looking into building a slot mortice machine. There are many plans on the net and once you have tried one you will be more than satisfied with the speed over the Delta or any other square type machine. Don't get me wrong though, The delta is a good machine but very limited.

It's not a difficult build. The rails are made from 8020 parts. All found on EBay cheap.

I used it to build 6 dining chairs with.

Dave huber
03-08-2014, 3:21 PM
I went from a Delta to a Powermatic. HUGE difference in design and build.

That at being said, I got a Domino for my birthday. Wow, is it a big step forward. Faster, easier and really well designed and built.

Dave

Dominic Carpenter
03-08-2014, 4:47 PM
What do yo think you use more, the domino or the mortiser? I'm somewhat of a traditionalist, but I currently have a project that has several angled mortises and am using wedges to 90 them to the mortiser fence. A little more time consuming. I'm always considering jigs for the router, but really hate fiddling with the it.

Dave huber
03-08-2014, 4:57 PM