PDA

View Full Version : KODAK 20"x30" prints

jack duren
06-19-2005, 11:48 AM
anybody ever done this online? have some old scanned family photos. would like to make framed pictures of them for the bar area. thx...jack

Frank Hagan
06-19-2005, 2:20 PM
Used to do it in a company I worked for ... but they were a different kind of picture! They were usually of accident scenes, injuries, etc. for courtroom use. Largest size we normally used was 30 x 40.

You get increased "grain" when you enlarge a photo, so the size of the original negative (or resolution of the digital file) will be a big factor in how well it looks. For some of the photos we had of accident scenes shot with a 35mm camera with 400 film, the picture could get pretty grainy. They looked OK from 6' away or more, but not close up. I'm not an expert on this, but evidently if the same picture was taken with a lower ASA film, the grain size would be smaller and the enlargement better.

So I guess it depends on where you're starting ... original print, or negative, or digital file.

John Hart
06-19-2005, 2:33 PM
Jack,

I've never done any quite that large, but if your scans are super high resolution, I would think that you could blow it up in Photoshop and clean any pixelization out of it using the air brush and the healing brush tools. I've taken some smaller pics and blown them up to 8X10 with pretty good success. Sounds lke a great project.

jack duren
06-19-2005, 4:01 PM
thx for the replies. ive got a few that were scanned with very high dpi. guess best answer for this is to just send one..jack

Aaron Koehl
06-20-2005, 12:54 AM
Jack,

I've never done any quite that large, but if your scans are super high resolution, I would think that you could blow it up in Photoshop and clean any pixelization out of it using the air brush and the healing brush tools. I've taken some smaller pics and blown them up to 8X10 with pretty good success. Sounds lke a great project.