PDA

View Full Version : cedar fascias

Dee Taylor
03-04-2014, 9:58 PM
I would like some advice from experienced woodworking guys please. I am planning to fit cedar fascias around my windows. My house is timber frame with a stucco exterior. The windows are powder coated alumnium. The fascia size is 10cm wide by 2cm thick.
I am thinking to glue the fascias onto the stucco with 2 types of glue. One a quick grab almost contact adhesive and the other a long term flexible waterproof adhesive. I have thought about mechanical fixings but the stucco is really hard and I am not sure what to use in the way of fixings. That would also necessitate pre-drilling and plugging of holes which would be possible .
What do you think?? I live in New Zealand and our system of building is somewhat similar to yours so I was hoping you might have some good thoughts on this.
Many thanks

Jerry Miner
03-05-2014, 2:50 AM
Dee---

I've been a carpenter here in the US for almost 40 years. I have never attached exterior trim with adhesives alone. Not saying it wouldn't work, but I would not be comfortable without some mechanical fasteners.

(I think what you are calling "fascias" we call "casing"---the trim that surrounds a window). Here's the approach I would take:

Pre-drill through the wood and stucco. I'd probably start with one or two holes and drive in a temporary screw or two to make sure nothing shifted while I drilled the rest of the holes. I'd put a pair of screws in a pattern, about every 16" (40 cm) or so.

Remove temporary screws and fill the stucco holes with a good sealant. Drive permanent, stainless-steel screws (wouldn't use anything else on cedar)

If you have good attachment behind the stucco, great. If not, pastic anchors work very well in stucco, but do not over-torque the screws. Don't forget the sealant. Good luck

Dee Taylor
03-05-2014, 7:49 PM
Hi Jerry