PDA

View Full Version : Freeze Drying?

Peter Blair
03-04-2014, 6:41 PM
Has anyone had any experience freeze drying rough outs?
I have quite a bit of spalted maple that is soon going to get punky.
I would like to rough out as much as I can and wonder if anyone has experience with freezing bowls and hollow forms? I have had mixed success freezing blocks of wood and am hoping someone here can steer me in the right direction.
i am contemplating ether just tossing them in my chest freezer or coating either the end grain or the complete rough out.
I usually boil my roughouts and am just trying to determine if freezing might be a substutute for boiling?

Roger Chandler
03-04-2014, 7:42 PM
I have no personal experience with freezing wood. That being said, I did speak with one very experienced bowl turner who told me about the only way he knows of to get most pieces of wood preserved without cracking is to freeze them.......he said he gets about 98% success rate by freezing.

Now, whether that would be any better or less trouble than boiling roughouts.........that I do not know. :confused: We have one turner in our club who boils his roughouts from time to time and has good success with that method as well.

Fred Belknap
03-04-2014, 10:46 PM