PDA

View Full Version : Granite engraving

Krešimir Vranjković
03-04-2014, 10:18 AM
So, this is my first try at granite engraving.

Kept the speed high, and power at medium setting (90s/40p).

Please let me know what you think!

Tony Lenkic
03-04-2014, 10:54 AM
Hi Kreso, welcome to the SMC forum.

Your introduction thread is in wrong place. Members here wont see it where you posted it.
To introduce your self to engravers forum start by clicking on "Post new thread" at bottom left of engravers forum page.

Bert Kemp
03-04-2014, 11:13 AM
Very nice photo. I think it might even be better if you removed the back ground and just engraved the people.

Dan Hintz
03-04-2014, 3:49 PM
I'd say you have some decent contrast within elements of the photo, but you need a higher contrast with the granite itself. Once you get the image as a whole brightened up, it'll really pop.

And I agree with Bert, kill the background...

Krešimir Vranjković
03-06-2014, 6:19 AM
Thank you for the input guys!
The client wanted the background, so that's that:)
Dan, what do you mean by "higher contrast with the granite itself"? Do you mean I should increase brightness/contrast in my graphics software, or increase laser power while engraving?

Again, thanks for your input!

Cheers!

Louie Alvarez
03-07-2014, 5:44 PM
Although all laser machines will engrave a photo they all leave much to be desired if you don't have a photo specific application such as PhotoGrav, EngraveLab or similar. Disclaimer; I know, use and sell PhotoGrav so I am biased to this app since I've used it for many years, that said I would highly recommend you pick up a copy to "prep" the image with the best laser ready file that these types of apps can produce. Your image although ok, would look stellar with PhotoGrav. To make a photo truly stand out you would minimize the mid tones and enhance the dark and white tones, this will make, as was said earlier, the image "pop".