PDA

View Full Version : 45 degree angles

Gerry S. Wojtowicz
02-27-2014, 8:56 AM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to hand planes. I'm trying to build a shooting board for planning 45 degrees in boards, but I am uncertain how to get the 45 degrees in the pieces of the shooting board itself. I know it is theoretically possible to use a hand plane to achieve that 45 degree angle, but for the life of me I can't figure out how it is done.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Gerry

Sean Hughto
02-27-2014, 9:15 AM
I'm not sure I understand your question. You achieve a 45 degree angle in the same way you achieve a 90 degree angle or any other angle for that matter - you mark well, you saw as accurately as you can, and then you adjust with plane or chisel until the angles are true as judged by your marking and measuring tools.

Practically speaking, do you have a table saw, a compound miter saw, sliding compound miter saw, or even a handsaw with a miter box?

Chris Griggs
02-27-2014, 9:19 AM
First build this type of miter shooting board...you don't need to create any perfect angle to make it, you just need to secure the pieces at perfect 45.

Then use it to get the angles for the end pieces you will need to build this type....well that's what I did anyway.

You'll want to have both types anyway.

David Weaver
02-27-2014, 9:20 AM
Are you marking length of lines? If that's all you have at your hands right now, I'd use basic math.

two legs of equal length to make your 90 degree angle, you'll know the angle is 90 degrees when the line connecting the ends of the two is their length multiplied by the square root of 2.

lowell holmes
02-27-2014, 9:44 AM
Google "Donkey's Ear" and select the Popular Woodworking site.

It is a very well written article on the subject.

Gerry S. Wojtowicz
02-27-2014, 12:29 PM
Thanks to all.