PDA

View Full Version : Re-ebonizing Stanley knobs

Daniel Rode
02-24-2014, 9:36 PM
I finally found a router plane. It's appears to be in great shape for a user plane. The knobs are intact with no splits but the ebony finish is pretty beat up. I think the ebony handles were just pained. I've never tried to refinish any plane knob or tote, so I'm a complete newbie. Any tips on making them smooth and black again?

Sean Hughto
02-24-2014, 10:07 PM
That there is PATINA, boooyee. Hit it with some steel wool to knock off anything loose and then some BLO. They'll be perfect!

Daniel Rode
02-24-2014, 10:29 PM
I'm good with keeping the handles cosmetically as they are. I just want to protect them so the last another few decades. Sounds like an investment of a quarter hour and a quarter dollar :)

That there is PATINA, boooyee. Hit it with some steel wool to knock off anything loose and then some BLO. They'll be perfect!

Judson Green
02-24-2014, 10:37 PM
Looks good! Sure do like my 71½. Welcome to router world!

Joe Bailey
02-25-2014, 12:02 AM
I know of this plane. You cost me 20.00. About a year ago I bet a friend that no one would pay 80.00 for a 71 1/2 with no box and ebonized handles.

Jim Koepke
02-25-2014, 1:45 AM
Daniel,

Do you have a way of making this knob spin as in a lathe or drill press?

Some people like to get back to the wood and finish it with stain and a clear coat.

Otherwise just clean to your comfort level and have fun with it.

jtk

phil harold
02-25-2014, 7:27 AM
Rust-Oleum should do the trick

Andrew Pitonyak
02-25-2014, 8:26 AM
http://www.popularwoodworking.com/techniques/ebonizing_wood

Is that really ebonized, or just painted? I never gave it a thought before. I assume that if you choose to ebonize, you will need to clean it up first.

Daniel Rode
02-25-2014, 9:00 AM