PDA

View Full Version : Can I safely keep my power tools in a shed?

Michael Yadfar
02-24-2014, 8:53 AM
Currently I'm a college student so I live at home, and plan to be there for another few years. Right now I have a little personal shop I'm starting in my shed because it's the only space I have for now. It's a wooden storage shed, so there's no insulation or temperature controls, and you can actually see daylight through the doors when they're shut because they don't seal off the shed too well. The shed is about six inches off the ground and is on top of a gravel foundation so moisture is limited from underneath. The shed is also well ventilated.

I store my hand tools in the garage which is a bit better because it's insulated. But the shed is my only option for stationary tools like my jointer, planer, table saw, band saw, work bench, and router table. The thing I'm worried about is my tools rusting from the humidity. I don't know if a dehumidifier would work since the sheds not properly sealed. I was thinking maybe cloth tarps or towels would work? When I move out shop space is probably one of my top priorities.

Mike Wilkins
02-24-2014, 9:24 AM
Do a thorough cleaning job on all the machine surfaces, and then a good paste wax job. Should keep rust away and allow the wood to slide easily across the tops. There are also products made for machinery tops available from the woodworking stores. Boeshield is one brand.

Erik Loza
02-24-2014, 9:42 AM
What Mike said ^^^^

IMO, paste wax may not be good enough to protect the cast iron surfaces for that span of time. I would look into actual greases or aerosol-type metal protectants that go on heavy. That is what we use to protect machines for long storage. CRC makes a good one...

http://www.crcindustries.com.au/soft-seal-corrosion-inhibitor

Also, I might look into some anti-vermin measures. Make sure rodents don't get in there and chew up your wiring or make nests in the machines. Best of luck with it.

Erik Loza