PDA

View Full Version : Speed by Percentage.

Eddie Castaneda
02-20-2014, 2:51 PM
I've been engraving for a few months now and I should of asked this question. How do you figure speed with a percentage? Sorry if this is a simply answer

Mark Sipes
02-20-2014, 3:16 PM
Not really sure what you mean 50% is half the max speed of your machine and so on...

the 300 flexx has a max speed of :

140 inch/sec / 355 cm/sec for CO2
78 inch/sec / 200 cm/sec for fiber

Percentage of Power applied at a given speed differs with material and depth.

Dan Hintz
02-20-2014, 3:38 PM
Speed by percentage was relatively easy when most here were using machines rated around 70-75ips. Now that Chinese lasers have come into the mix, as well as the faster Trotecs, it gets a little more murky. Basically, look at what machine parameter provider uses and go from there. Here are some typical values:

ULS / Epilog : 70-75ips
Trotec : 140ips
Chinese : 25-60ips (varies widely with machine)

If a speed of 50% is given for a ULS, then run at 25% speed for a Trotec (assuming the same wattage). When wattage changes, well, you'll have to run tests as all substrates react differently to differing power levels... but the same sort of ratio should put you in the right ballpark.

Gary Hair
02-20-2014, 8:19 PM
Speed by percentage was relatively easy when most here were using machines rated around 70-75ips. Now that Chinese lasers have come into the mix, as well as the faster Trotecs, it gets a little more murky. Basically, look at what machine parameter provider uses and go from there.