PDA

View Full Version : Cat Claws

Raymond Fries
02-18-2014, 5:25 PM
Thinking about taking another cat, for a short time, for my daughter. The cat has all of the claws and and she does not want to have the claws removed. Our two cats do not have the front claws.

If a cat's claws are filed short, can they still scratch up wooden furniture or tear fabric?

Do the nail caps work?

We want to help but do not want the cat to damage things.

Any experience here?

Thanks

Jerome Stanek
02-18-2014, 6:32 PM
For a short length of time you could try soft paws.

Erik Loza
02-18-2014, 6:34 PM
Raymond, I have no experience with the nail caps but will say that it's important to have multiple scratching posts or other scratching-type items around. That takes their attention away from the furniture. Ours seem to especially favor the sisal rope scratching posts.

Best of luck,

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Jim Matthews
02-18-2014, 7:10 PM
How long?

Consider a cubby, or isolated room.
Cats will mark territory, when a new one is introduced.

I would be less concerned about scratching than spraying.

Chris Padilla
02-18-2014, 8:19 PM
Soft paws can work but the best bet is to provide the cat a place to scratch. Even the cheap cardboard scratchers that you dump catnip into work pretty well.

Hopefully the cat has been fixed...that will mitigate spraying.

Bill Cunningham
02-18-2014, 8:29 PM
+1 for softpaws.. They don't last that long, but if you only only have the cat for a short time, they will save you a lot of furniture fixin afterwards.

Rod Sheridan
02-19-2014, 9:14 AM
As others have said, softpaws and scratching posts.

When we come home at night, two of our cats go to the scratching post in the hallway and scratch away to show us how good they are........I always laugh, it's like kids vying for attention.

Regards, Rod.

Lee Schierer
02-19-2014, 10:15 PM