PDA

View Full Version : For those about to sell...we salute you...

Matthew Poeller
06-17-2005, 8:40 AM
I have been turning pens for about 6 months now. I have always loved pens and turning is wonderful to do since the result is almost immediate unlike most of my other projects. Well any of you that turn pens know that in six months you can start to accumulate a lot of pens. I now have so many that I cannot use them all so I have decided to start selling them. I am almost complete with my website. I have put up a posting on classifieds here at work. I have only sold one but I have received many comments to the effect of, "Those are very nice but I am too cheap to buy one." Now don't get me wrong I would rather have a whole shelf full of pens rather than sell them for less than I think they are worth. But it would be nice to sell some.

So my question is, I see that people here sell pens, many for pretty high prices. Short of going to a show (I do not have time for that on the weekends.) How do you find most of your pens are sold? Website? Work? Friends? If website, how do you direct trafic to your sight?

Thank you in advance.

Tom Seaman
06-17-2005, 1:05 PM
I sell about 30-40 pens a year. Virtually all of them are sold at work, or my wife's work (she's a teacher). I make a bunch during the late summer/fall, and my wife takes them into work in November for a few days. Most are purchased as Christmas gifts, since many people, including myself, are "too cheap to buy one" for themselves. Since I've been doing it for 2-3 years, friends/coworkers now know I make them, and during the year I'll get requests for pens for birthdays, graduations, etc. when they need a nice, affordable gift.

I also give them away as gifts, which means I don't have to go shopping.:D

Ed Scolforo
06-17-2005, 1:09 PM