PDA

View Full Version : General Metalworking New Workbench Build

Jefferey Scott
02-17-2014, 8:10 AM
Hi folks, I've been a woodworker for over 20 years and recently caught the bug of metalworking. I've got a MIG welder and Plasma cutter now and decided it was time to build a decent welding table/fabrication table. I though I'd share my progress so far in pictures.

Here I'm starting the top of the frame jigging up a corner:

Here's the top tack welded together. The frame is made from 3x2 11 Ga. rectangular tubing A36 steel.

Here's a leg jigged up with 2-90 degree fixtures to insure plumb.

Casters I'm using. 1000 lbs capacity per caster. They roll very nicely.

Finished frame. It's 1/16 out of square measured diagonally on the top. I'll take that accuracy especially being a novice welder. The top will be a 48x76 piece of 1/2" plate with a 3" overhang on the sides and 5" on the ends and the shelf below will be a sheet of 11 ga for tool storage, etc. It's height will be 36" and will have screw down feet on each corner.

For woodworking I'm going to keep a sheet of 1/2 cabinet ply to put on top of the steel top to protect the wood. It's going to truly be a multipurpose bench and the last one I should have to build. As far as finishing, I'm going to leave the frame natural and just wax it to keep corrosion from setting in. I though about painting it, but it would get nicked here and there and start looking bad after a while.

Opinions on this table? Should I do anything else to make it better?

Lornie McCullough
02-17-2014, 6:26 PM
Very nice table.... I like it.

Lornie

Scott T Smith
02-17-2014, 7:18 PM