PDA

View Full Version : Please Allow Me To Introduce Myself

Larry Norton
06-16-2005, 8:03 PM
Hi, All! My name is Larry Norton and I live in the little town of La Plata, Md. I was a service tech for Verizon for 30 years and retired on Christmas Eve, 2001. On Apr. 28, 2002, our house was picked up and moved 9 ft. in a devestating tornado. It came crashing down on top of us, but we were just scratched.

In the old house I had a 17 by 21 ft basement shop, the new house has a 24 by 32 basement shop. We were actually able to save quite a few tools because the house stayed in one piece. 3 very good friends of mine sent pictures of the house sitting on my Delta contractors saw. Delta was going to replace it, but I had already gotten a PM 66, so, to make a long story short, they delivered a brand new DJ20 jointer to my door. Needless to say, I was overwhelmed.

I've been building furniture for 16 years, and my wife and I do about 6 or 7 shows a year. I also have a one day a week job putting up new books and magazines in 3 Home Depots. I'm certainly not doing it for the money, but it is fun.

If someone could tell me how to post pictures, I would appreciate it. My furniture isn't spectacular, but I'm having fun.

Thanks for listening to me ramble. I learn new things every day, and look foreward to learning things here. Hopefully I'll be able to add some too.

Vaughn McMillan
06-16-2005, 8:08 PM
Hi Larry, and welcome to the Creek. I'm pretty new aroud these parts myself, but I guarantee you won't find a better bunch of people on the 'net. Lots of good-natured learning, sharing, helping, and gloating going on.

Regarding posting pictures, there's some discussion about it at http://sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=21272. I've had no trouble posting pics, but I have a website that I can host them from. If you don't have a website of your own, there are a number of "picture hosting" sites. Others here can likely shed a lot more light about these than I can.