PDA

View Full Version : Nova 3 Chuck on a Shopsmith

Jim Hipp
02-12-2014, 3:56 PM
I am a novice turner. I have turned a few pieces with my Shopsmith Mark V and enjoyed it. Wanting to expand my work I was looking for a chuck that would fit my machine and learned that a Nova 3 with an adapter to match the spindle might be the answer. The chuck price from Shopsmith, including the adapter and a Pin Jaw set is $185. Also included was a Wormwood screw. Below is the explanation concerning the screw.

"The 1.889" long by 0.507" diameter screw offers a deep, fine thread that is precision machined all the way to the end of the screw, allowing it to lead easily into a 9/32" diameter pilot hole in soft woods (5/16" for hardwoods) and grip tightly. It features a square shank and locating groove that locks positively into the Nova chuck body."

I am unable to understand this.

Is this needed because I will be using a Shopsmith?

What exactly is the purpose of the screw?

Is this common to all chucks?

Apparently the Nova 3 has a dovetail type jaw. Is this common? More difficult to attach?

Any help would be appreciated.

Link to the Shopsmith site http://www.shopsmith.com/ownersite/catalog/nova_g3.htm

Thanks for any help.

Jim

Brian Morgan
02-12-2014, 4:18 PM
The screw is used to mount a block for turning. Simply drill a 9/32" hole in the piece to be turned, and thread the screw into the hole. The square shank can now be held in the chuck jaws. You can now turn a tenon on the opposite end for holding in the jaws. The hole you drilled for the screw now becomes the beginning of the bowl or vessel interior. The dovetail is no more difficult to install - you have four jaws, with most having two screws for attaching to the chuck body. Jaws are numbered and correspond to numbers on the body.

Kyle Iwamoto
02-12-2014, 4:23 PM
Hi!