PDA

View Full Version : Article on Steel City Tool Works

Brett Robson
02-03-2014, 9:35 PM
I came across an interesting article about Steel City - gives some insight into what happened to them a few years back. From what I read here, they're alive and well again.

http://www.woodworkersjournal.com/Ezine/Articles/Steel-City-Tool-Works-Reinvigorated-and-Ready-for-9861.aspx

Benjamin Miller
02-03-2014, 11:59 PM
I bought a Steel City table saw at the Woodsmith Store in Des Moines when I moved into my house in 2008. I've been using it heavily for nearly six years, and am still impressed at its quality.

It's a cast iron topped cabinet saw with a 30" fence and a 3 hp motor. I think I paid about $750, which was a great deal at the time and would be an even better one now.

What impressed me most was not the saw fit and finish, which was very high for an Asian machine, but the support I received when something went wrong.

About a month after I bought the saw, it started shaking violently when turned on and would trip a breaker. I removed and isolated the problem to the motor, but it spun freely and both capacitors tested fine. There isn't a lot that can go wrong with an induction motor, so I suspected either a broken weld on the squirrel cage, a stuck centrifugal switch, or some capacitor/wiring problem that only manifested itself at a high voltage.

I called the support number, and to my surprise, an American answered. I told him about the problem and he said they'd call back. A few hours later, I got a call from a VP... Scott ??? was his name? He knew a great deal about the parts on this saw, and said they'd send me a new motor. No RMA, no receipt or return required, and a week later I got a crate in the mail with a new motor.

The crazy thing is that the motor worked fine when I tried it a few years ago, so it's now powering an 18" bandsaw that I restored.

Yonak Hawkins
02-04-2014, 12:21 AM
I thought they were an American company. Am I wrong ?

Steve Rozmiarek