PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite woodworking tools?

Mike Leung
02-03-2014, 2:47 PM
It would be good to share everyone's favorite bargain and spendy tool experiences. I'll start with a few of my favorites.

Bargain hand tool: Simonds Vixen file $5.00 eBay. I use this as a float to clean and adjust all of my mortises and tenons. It make fitting my joints a breeze.

Bargain powertool: Ridgid oscillating spindle belt sander. $100 Home Depot. I have been using the sander for almost 10 years and it is used on almost every project to quickly sand flat or curve surfaces. I use 3m regalite belts that lasts forever. It also has a lifetime warranty.

Spendy hand tool: Lie Nielsen Rabbet Block plane. $175. I use this to trim shoulders and cheeks on tenons, cut chamfers and use it for all my general block planing needs.

Spendy power tool: Sawstop 3hp ICS $3500, awesome table saw. Accurate and has performed flawlessly for the past 4 years. Only the fence faces needed to be upgraded. It was expensive but worth every penny.

Rod Sheridan
02-03-2014, 3:19 PM
In hand tools my favourites are egg beater drills. I have a few, on particular Millers Falls drill get used often.

In power tools my favourite is the shaper, nothing to me changes a stick of wood into something nice like a shaper. Using it to pattern copy is even more remarkable to me.

Regards, Rod.

Steve Rozmiarek
02-03-2014, 3:47 PM
I just like this corner of my shop best, hard to pick just one thing in it.

Ok, lets try that size...

Larry Browning
02-03-2014, 3:51 PM
Steve, I like it big. That's a pretty awesome picture!

Steve Rozmiarek
02-03-2014, 3:56 PM
Steve, I like it big. That's a pretty awesome picture!

Thanks Larry, think I may have violated a rule by posting something that big though.

Sam Whit
02-03-2014, 4:04 PM
Bargain hand tool - 36 inch ruler. $2.00

Spendy hand tool - Stanley planes.

Bargain power tool - DeWalt job site saw - over half off brand new.