PDA

View Full Version : wheel alingment on powerfeeders?

andy photenas
02-02-2014, 12:58 PM
Hi there, I just got a new shaper table and it came with a power feeder. I have never used one before and was wondering if all of the wheels should be in the same plane? Or should i say should they all touch the wood at the same time with the same pressure?
The issue im having is the feeder spins its wheels and the wood does not move through. I do have the machine set below the wood by around 1/4". It seems the middle wheel protrudes from the plane of the front and back wheels by a noticable amount. This is a small 3 wheel machine.

David Kumm
02-02-2014, 1:41 PM
Wax the table and probably change the wheels. Urethane blue or yellow from Western Roller or Axiom will make a world of difference. Dave

Erik Loza
02-02-2014, 1:44 PM
Ditto on the aftermarket poly wheels. Whatever that yellowish rubber it is that the feeder mfrs. use, after it sits for a long time (i.e. "machine bought at auction"...), it becomes somewhat glazed and loses it elasticity.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

andy photenas
02-02-2014, 2:21 PM
Ill go look for those wheels online ty vm !

How about the height on the wheels should they all be the same ?

Cary Falk
02-02-2014, 2:23 PM
I am no feeder expert but I had the same problem and waxed the table and also ran the feeder and held a piece of 60 grit sand paper on the wheels to remove the glaze. Works great now. Mine are yellow rubber.

J.R. Rutter
02-02-2014, 2:41 PM