PDA

View Full Version : Need recommendations for an HVLP conversion gun

jim gossage
01-30-2014, 10:20 PM
I have decided to buy an HVLP spray gun and would like some advice. I am a hobby woodworker and build projects from small items up to medium size cabinets/tables and occasionally bookcases. I have decided to go with a conversion gun and an air compressor. The compressor will go in the attic so noise will not be a problem. I am leaning towards an oil free compressor in order to avoid regular maintenance, and am willing to spend $400-600 dollars on one. I plan to build a spray booth with exhaust fan but will likely spray only waterborne finishes and ?shellac. I don’t have a strong opinion on whether to get a gravity feed or suction gun. In terms of my gun wish list I would favor easy clean up, minimum finish waste, availability of different size needles and caps, and easy adjustability of air flow and spray pattern. Speed of finish application, price, and ability to spray paint are not that important to me. I have been to the Homestead finishing site and read Jeff Jewitt’s book, and searched around SMC some but still need some help. So, here are my questions:

What gun would you recommend?
What air compressor would you recommend (I’m thinking 10-20 gallon, oil free)?
Where is a good place to pick up waterborne finishes?

Thanks

Larry Whitlow
01-30-2014, 10:40 PM
For #1: I cannot recall exactly who it was, but someone here on SMC recommended "homesteadfinsihingproducts.com". The site is very helpful in guiding you to the correct equipment. Help via the phone is fantastic.

Michael W. Clark
01-30-2014, 11:53 PM
I know you said you are not concerned about noise, but the oil-less compressors I have been around are super loud. The recip type of oiled compressors are loud, but much more tolerable. I have a 30 gallon tank on mine and often wish it was larger. Of course it depends on the capabilities of the compressor vs. the CFM of the gun as well.