PDA

View Full Version : Leigh Super 18 Dovetail Jig vs. Leigh D4

Jim Gunter
01-30-2014, 3:43 PM
I need to start another project with dovetails for the house. I am not a production craftsman but do a fair amount of furniture. Up till now I had a cheap blind dovetail jig. (Junk man has it now)
Question is : The Super Jigs from Leigh specifically the 18" - are they good units ? At $389 they are not cheap but compared to the D4R Pro at $589 save $200. ( I know the D4R is 6" longer)
I can pick up a used D4 or D3 for $350 but they are only $40 lower than a new Super 18"
I just don't want to buy a cheaply built jig again.
Another small concern is the 18" is not available at most outlets at this time. Are they a problem, going out of production or so good they ran out ?
Thanks

Dennis McDonaugh
01-30-2014, 4:01 PM
I've been wondering the same thing. I have never had a need to make a drawer over 12" tall and don't plan on making a dovetailed chest.

Bill Space
01-30-2014, 7:37 PM
I don't know most of the answers to your questions...but do know that I purchased a D4 off of Craigslist last year for $140. So maybe if you look around you can find a similar deal.

Naturally, if you need it quick...you will have to pay the price!

Tony Joyce
01-30-2014, 8:05 PM
I own and have used the Super 18 jig. It seems to be as well make and easier to use than an older D3 or D4 that I had borrowed from a friend. Be sure to get the vacuum attachment. If you don't need the width, you will not regret getting it.

Tony

Ray Newman
01-30-2014, 11:40 PM
Would a Keller jig work?

Very simple setup and robust construction. I have utilized it on the router table as well as clamped to the work bench.

http://www.kellerdovetail.com/

John Towns
01-31-2014, 6:13 AM